Court approves closure of 11 TUSD schools

CREATED Feb 15, 2013

  • Print
  • Wakefield middle school is one of the 11 TUSD schools approved for closure by a U.S. district court.

Web Producer: Rikki Mitchell

TUCSON (KGUN9-TV) - The Tucson Unified School District received approval from a U.S. District Court to close 11 schools.

The TUSD governing board initiated the closure of the schools in December, as part of a budget plan that would bridge a $17 million shortfall.

The schools that will be closed:

  • Brichta Elementary School, 2110 W. Brichta Drive

  • Carson Middle School, 7777 E. Stella Road

  • Corbett Elementary School, 5949 E. 29th St.

  • Fort Lowell-Townsend K-8, 2120 N. Beverly Blvd.

  • Hohokam Middle School, 7400 S. Settler

  • Howenstine High School 555 S. Tucson Blvd.

  • Lyons Elementary School, 7555 E. Dogwood St.

  • Maxwell Middle School, 2802 W. Anklam Road (Note: Maxwell will be reopened as a new K-8 school)

  • Menlo Park Elementary, 1100 W Fresno St.

  • Schumaker Elementary School, 501 N. Maguire

  • Wakefield Middle School, 101 W. 44th St.

Each school approved for closure will operate as normal through the end of this school year. The approved closures will cut $4.2 million from next year's budget.